On VOX and blogging

I was reading Miss Karen's blog entry, if a post falls in the blogosphere and no one comments…. and it got me thinking about why I blog in the first place.

Whenever I get a free moment I go exploring around Vox. I see a lot of first posts and some writings that sound a little bewildered. What am I doing here? Gee it’s pretty. Do I really need another blog? What am I supposed to do? And it touches my heart when I see these calls go unanswered.

To which I answered in the comments:

I love it when people comment on my posts. Though I usually only get one or two comments to each post, that's proof positive that people read what I write. 

Why do I want the feed back (I wonder to myself)?  Perhaps it's an ego/validation thing.  I dunno. It's true that comments give me fuel to continue and motivation to not let my blog gather dust.

Ego, validation, the need for attention… whatever it is, I don't blog for the kudos. I started blogging because I have friends and family who live far away and it seemed like a more passive way of sharing what I was doing on any any particular day—as opposed to emailing said group my daily activities, every day, which seems invasive and presumptuous (who wants to get an email where I blather on about the afternoon with my S.O. eating bacon cheese burgers?).  I live in San Francisco where there is always something nutty going on, and I want to share it with my friends who live elsewhere

…and blogging seems like the best way to do it.  As Karen said in the comments (yay! comments!) "Blogs are patient and there when you're ready."

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Evee Lee
    Aug 25, 2006 @ 14:18:00

    Here's some attention and validation.

    Reply

  2. karen
    Aug 25, 2006 @ 16:35:00

    I also blog for people who are far away. My TypePad blog is more-or-less a Mommy blog. I started it because I thought the little stories about my kids would be cute for family (like my continuing battle to be a good tooth fairy), but maybe not content-rich enough to send out as regular e-mails. Like you, I find e-mails to be intrusive – and somewhat demanding. Blogs are patient and there when you're ready.
    Thanks for your comment on my blog. I like reading your stuff.

    Reply

  3. Sylvia's Revenge
    Aug 25, 2006 @ 18:32:00

    *validates your life-parking* :)I enjoy your posts, too.

    Reply

  4. Richard
    Aug 25, 2006 @ 18:34:00

    I think that the big fear of no comments is that we may discover that we are not as fabluous as we think and that our life may actually be boring to other people.

    Reply

  5. Elellanyar Rilmavilyawa
    Aug 26, 2006 @ 00:56:00

    That's partly why we leave comments on people's blog…to tell them that we read what they've written….and in a way, sometimes you expect a little something back, as in a comment back…or whatever, but like Richard above jsut said, sometimes it makes us realise that our lives isn't as interesting to other people as we might have thought. Alas…that seems to be my dilemma.

    Reply

  6. Ne2 maape
    Aug 26, 2006 @ 04:23:00

    Here's more attention and validation.
    I think your blog in perticular is really funnynd intresting, but I only usually post coments when the post ask a qestion.

    Reply

  7. Timmy!
    Aug 26, 2006 @ 09:54:00

    🙂

    Reply

  8. Kimmers
    Aug 28, 2006 @ 11:22:00

    Timmy is my excellent friend from way-back land, and I love to be able to check in and see what silliness he's perpetrating recently. Yay validation!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

