Surreal Image Replication / Displacement

So I am on the elliptical treadmill thing at the gym and I'm watching the big flat screen which has the local news on it and during the commercials I'm watching the scene out the window, where I can see a patch of grass next to that big bow and arrow, people walking along the boardwalk and the sunlit Bay Bridge in the background.  Very pretty, almost postcard-like.

On the news was some story about the 49'ers screwing the City by moving to some cursed, ugly field in the middle of East-Bay-nowheresville. (Yawn, yawn, blah blah, ooo! Gavin Newsom! … yawn some more, blah blah, etc.)  Trisha Takenawa is on the teevee giving the details. I'm not really watching the story, but I did notice that she's wearing the same, exact clothing as that Asian lady who's standing next to the bow and arrow on the grass with a microphone in her hand. Then I notice on the teevee that the Bay Bridge is in the background behind Trisha Takenawa, and I realize that I am watching live teevee on the teevee and out the window that's Trisha Takenawa there on the grass, doing the live teevee report and I'm seeing both at the same time!

How WEIRD!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lightandstorm
    Nov 14, 2006 @ 15:52:00

    Ha! How cool! :)I live in Santa Clara (where they're thinking of moving), and I hope they stay out. Nothing against them, I just think this city isn't right for a football team. The team should stay at Candlestick. Of course, opinion means nothing if they don't have the funds… 😦

    Reply

  2. thorswitch
    Nov 15, 2006 @ 19:21:00

    Too cool 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

