Mary Cheney, Dan Savage hates you

And I love Dan. So you do the math.

Dan starts by quoting Mary in the NYT:

“This is a baby. This is a blessing from God. It is not a political statement. It is not a prop to be used in a debate, on either side of a political issue. It is my child.”

Then he begins.

Nice try, Mary.

Yes, it’s a baby, not a prop. My kid isn’t a prop either, but that never stopped right-wingers from attacking me and my boyfriend over our decision to become parents. The fitness of same-sex couples to parent is very much part of the political debate thanks to the GOP and the Christian bigots that make up its lunatic “base.” You’re a Republican, Mary, you worked on both of your father’s campaigns, and you kept your mouth clamped shut while Karl Rove and George Bush ran around the country attacking gay people, gay parents, and our children in 2000, 2002, 2004, and 2006. It’s a little late to declare the private choices of gays and lesbians unfit for public debate, Mary.

Oh, and that's nothing. You really need to read the rest of the column

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mariser
    Feb 02, 2007 @ 14:29:00

    A-fucking-men!Dan Savage for President!

    Reply

  2. The Dude
    Feb 06, 2007 @ 09:22:00

    Yeah, it is amazing to see how these total assholes don't have any problem using other people's lives as political footballs, but then when it affects them "it is not a political statement." Ummm, you bet your ass it is a political statement when someone like Cheney, who has consistently carried water for her father and Bush does things in her life which would rain condemnation down on anyone else from these people. It just lays bare their abject hypocrisy.

    Reply

  3. Brons
    Feb 07, 2007 @ 12:39:00

    As I was researching my posting on the daily Show's interview with Chrissy Gephardt regarding the Blitzer/Cheney interview and Mary's interview quoted above, I cam upon an interesting fact regarding the quote. Just a few hours after the Cheney/Blitzer exchange, it was being discussed on TMZ, and one poster there wrote of Mary's baby,Pity the child. Cheney's daughter is only
    concerned about herself and her partner; afterall, the kid is merely a
    political statement and a liefestyle choice prop.To me, it looks as if Mary was motivated by this rather hateful attack on her as well as by the actual Situation Room exchange, which is to say that she was motivated in what she said but much the same thing that motivates Savage to criticize her.If there is any justice to the claim that Wolfe's question was illegitimate and crossed the line, it is probably to be found in the fact that it led to attacks like the one above. In the end, I must agree with Chrissy, and not Mary, that the question was legitimate, but that doesn't make me blind to Mary's hurt.And ultimately to blame are the folks like Dobson, whose attack Wolfe was asking Cheney to respond to, aid my the hypocrisy and moral cowardice of the VP. Mary, who is in a pretty hard spot, I hold less blameworthy, though one wishes she was more like Chrissy Gephardt.

    Reply

  4. Timmy!
    Feb 07, 2007 @ 12:53:00

    And ultimately to blame are the folks like Dobson, whose attack Wolfe
    was asking Cheney to respond to, aid my the hypocrisy and moral
    cowardice of the VP. Mary, who is in a pretty hard spot, I hold less
    blameworthy, though one wishes she was more like Chrissy Gephardt.Dobson
    and his ilk wouldn't get as far as they have without collaborators like
    Mary Cheney. Dobson, Fallwell, Robertson: they are the enemy. But Mary Cheney is something different. Mary Cheney is a traitor. Traitors are in an entirely different category than the enemy. Some people, like me, think traitors are worse than the enemy.

    Reply

  5. Brons
    Feb 07, 2007 @ 16:43:00

    I can understand that position, even though I do not share it. One thing I have to admit is that it's not my ox that is getting gored. I'm a monogamous, het, white male, married father of adult children. When I was a boy I was picked on for being effeminate and having sissy tastes, but I know that's not anywhere near the same thing as living as a homosexual in the current climate. My heart broke when one of my lesbian friends asked for help while moving her family (partner/wife and two sons) to safer Massachusetts because of the death threats they received just for who they were during a political campaign over a gay rights referendum, but I am smart enough to know that I can never feel what it is to be her.What has happened in this whole set of situations is horrible and unbelievable, and there is just so much wrong that it is hard to know where to start. Mary as recipient of the attacks of the sanctimonious right has my sympathy. And while my instinct against blaming the victim bridles at saying so, I think she bares some responsibility for how some of it plays out, and I believe that her role as a public figure who has engaged in these discussions entitles her to less, not more privacy and consideration than say my aforementioned friends. This is pretty far short of your condemnation of her as a traitor, but in many ways it is a question of degree, emphasis and weighting of factors.As a father, the one that feels like something resembling a traitor is Dick Cheney. As Jon Stewart alluded in his Strom Thurmond analogy, I think he has exhibitted hypocrisy and moral cowardice in not defending his child and all who are like her. I cannot conceive of doing that. Attack my children and those like them, and I must respond. His capitulation to Dobson and his ilk is the thing that feels like betrayal, the thing I cannot comprehend.As Jon Stewart said at the end of his interview of Chrissy, I hope that nothing here was out of line.JimB.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

