Robert Ingersoll on Faith

The notion that faith in Christ is to be rewarded by an eternity of bliss, while a dependence upon reason, observation, and experience merits everlasting pain, is too absurd for refutation, and can be relieved only by that unhappy mixture of insanity and ignorance, called "faith."

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sean LaFianza
    Jul 21, 2007 @ 08:45:00

    my belief in God IS based on reason, observation and experience, faith has a great deal to do with Christianity but there are many ways to come to "faith", my faith was spurred by logic. No where does the Bible talk of a suspension of reason, observation and experience to "be a Christian". If you're open to reading a bit deeper into the concept of faith i would strongly recommend reading (the non-Christian, existentialist book) Fear and Trembling by Kierkegaard.

    Reply

  2. Timmy!
    Jul 21, 2007 @ 09:31:00

    Faith and reason are incompatible. Sorry. Not to undermine what you believe in –you can believe anything you want. That's A-OK with me! My only issue is your use of the words "reason," "logic," "observation" and other scientific terms or techniques to lend credence to your faith in sky-gods or other magic. But tell you what: I'll read that book by Kierkegaard if you read this. Maybe this will cheer you up. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  3. Sean LaFianza
    Jul 21, 2007 @ 21:06:00

    man, i just read some excerpts and reviews on the book. Dawkins has serious anger towards Christianity and uses a great deal of assumptions that just don't hold true in my beliefs. I'm not sure I could make it through 400+ pages of being belittled. But seriously, i'm not trying to argue God into anyone, it's futile. i only mentioned Fear and Trembling as it is a non-Christian existentialist argument logically proving the need for faith in something higher.

    Reply

  4. Timmy!
    Jul 21, 2007 @ 22:38:00

    There's a book-on-tape version where Dawkins and a nice English lady read the book. It's like 13 hours. I listened to it on the train to & from work over the course of a couple weeks. If I were you, I wouldn't trust any single bad review of Dawkin's book. There are a lot of people who simply are unable to question their beliefs. There are people who are threatened by his message and feel the need to discredit him in any way possible. I seriously doubt most of the bad reviews came from those who read the book. Regardless, I recommend reading the book and making the determination yourself. Not sure if I understand the Fear and Trembling you mentioned. I mean, I've had plenty of it in my life, but usually it was caffeine induced. πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

