Oy, what a week I’ve had (part 2)

Part two in a series. Read part one here.

Saturday night at the Olympic Club

I had the honor of accompanying my friend Erin as her date to her office Christmas party at the Olympic Club club house downtown. Oh my LORD this place was fancy pants. I was wearing a new suit and I still felt under dressed. Little men and women in tuxedoes floating around the room with trays of yummy snacks or glasses of champagne. Light jazz was coming from somewhere. There was the barest hint of pipe smoke in the air.

Everything was so nice and polite and polished and elegant. I have pictures, but if you've seen the Devil's Advocate, then you already know what it looked like. It was basically the party scene and I was Charlize Theron.

Mary, Jeannie
Michelle, Tim, Erin

Dinner was fun. I was seated next to Jeannie and Peach. Jeannie had a delightfully wicked running commentary the whole night. She apologized at first, but I told her, "Darling, my motto is, 'if you have nothing nice to say, please, come sit next to me.'" We were immediate friends.

The food was absolutely top-notch. Glazed salmon, delicious potatoes, four different kinds of salad, deviled eggs (YAY!) and a chef slicing up huge chunks of fillet mignon. I had seconds of everything.

Mid-way through the party, I followed Mary's husband Tony out into the hallway. He told me he was going to go exploring the Club. I considered it for about a second and then I was right behind him. I mean, why not? I'm not a doctor or a lawyer, I'm a lowly graphic artist / web designer and as such I'll never be a member of this club. So this is probably the only time I'll ever get to see this fabulous place. 

It was so much more fabulous than I imagined.  This place was POSH!

IMG_0193IMG_0192IMG_0190IMG_0186IMG_0185IMG_0181

Later, a gaggle of us went to the Starlight lounge, just down the street and around the corner. Tacky decor, bad lighting, middle-aged guys, leisure suits, blah. not my scene. Good drinks, though. Loud. Nice place to take someone if conversation isn't something you care about. They had a singer who did a fair impression of Stevie Wonder.

I have all sorts of pictures from the night. Go check 'em out.  

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Patty
    Dec 25, 2007 @ 09:39:00

    fancy fancy! oh and I LOVE deviled eggs!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

