Betrayed by my representative, Nancy Pelosi

Tim F at BJ lays it out:

For no reason that I can fathom Steny Hoyer has decided to capitulate entirely on government eavesdropping and amnesty for the telecoms who assisted them. What was the overwhelming political pressure? Somebody spell this out for me.

It appears that the deal is done, the vote is tomorrow, and there is be absolutely no aspect to this “compromise” that does not simply give the White House everything it wants. Go read Glenn Greenwald if you have the stomach for it.

Then call Steny Hoyer and let him know how you feel. I don’t care what tone you use. (202) 225-4131

When you’re done, use the Capitol switchboard to contact your own representative and let him or her know that we’re paying attention. (202) 225-3121

Tell them that if they think people who broke the law should get off scot free, then you demand the same privilege. Ask for an address where you can send your parking tickets to get canceled. Let them know that you’ll gladly support a primary challenger against anybody stupid enough to support this abortion of a bill.

Let them know that the story won’t go away and it won’t age well. Hillary lost her primary fight because of a stupid vote for war, and your representative can go down just the same. Assholes who want to sacrifice fundamental American values for a a petty and incredibly misguided political calculation have no place in my party.

I would add that this deal would not have made it to the floor without the nod from Madame Speaker Nancy Pelosi, MY REP from San Francisco.I've been calling her and emailing her for WEEKS urging her not to capitulate on telecom amnesty. I feel betrayed.  I am so mad I could spit!

Cindy Sheehan is running for Nancy Pelosi's seat. People say that Cindy Sheehan is a nutcase. I don't care if she's clinically insane with drool on her shirt and spiders living in her hair. I know that Cindy Sheehan would NEVER have voted for this bill and would have fought tooth an nail against its passage.

I am sick and tired of the capitulation.

I plan to vote for Cindy Sheehan this November.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

