BRUTAL

I'd like to see more ads like these.

This woman must NOT become Vice President.

Here's the official Alaska Fish and Game Department policy verifying the claims made in this commercial.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristi
    Sep 13, 2008 @ 18:31:00

    Is this real?

    Reply

  2. Timmy!
    Sep 13, 2008 @ 22:29:00

    This is real. All facts are true and verified via factcheck.org.

    The commercial doesn't assert that she, in fact, shoots wolves from
    planes. She apparently went on a ride-along on at least one occasion,
    after which she introduced laws to ease restrictions regarding aerial
    hunting and later still instituted a bounty on the severed front paw of
    a wolf or wolf cub.

    Reply

  3. Kristi
    Sep 14, 2008 @ 05:41:00

    The bounty on the severed front paw I just can't believe! That's crazy!!! I think I might have to go to factcheck.com and see this for myself. Maybe she saw how inhumane the aerial hunting is and put the bounty on the front paw so the hunters would have to land and see the wolf suffer. Maybe it would change some minds? I don't know, I guess I'm trying to find excuses cause this sounds so inhumane to me.

    Reply

  4. Timmy!
    Sep 14, 2008 @ 08:26:00

    Sadly, I cannot find this information on Factcheck.org, where it was verified, I was told. However, I did find this official Alaska Department of Fish and Game press release which verifies the $150 bounty (item #2) and the easing of restrictions regarding the aerial hunt (items #1 and 3).

    Reply

  5. Kristi
    Sep 14, 2008 @ 09:11:00

    Sorry – my post didn't go through.? so, Removing wolves is one part of ADF&G’s efforts to restore and increase selected moose and caribou populations which provide food for Alaskan families. And, the bounty was to stop the suffering and leaving of the wolves after being shot. (I assume) I don't know why this issue bugs me – there are so many other things we and our leaders should be concentrating on – our economy, world food shortage, Iraq, and the environment. Thanks for finding the press release. I hope it's true. (you never can tell these days)

    Reply

  6. Timmy!
    Sep 14, 2008 @ 11:47:00

    There are lots of logical, sound reasons for hunting. That's one side
    of the issue. The animal cruelty and unfairness of hunting from a plane
    is another side of the issue. Either way, it's a complicated issue. The
    water is muddy enough for supporters of Palin and Republican partisans
    to obscure the facts, so don't expect this argument to go far.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

