I think Palin may have won

(Updated below)

The expectations on Palin were the lowest they’ve been since William Hung on American Idol. She did not drool on herself and she did not wander off the stage. I honestly expected her to lose her shit on stage but she held it together.

At times, she reminded me of a spinning top – she was going VERY fast and I think her pacing helped her. If she slowed, she would have wobbled or fallen over, just like a spinning top.

Was I the only one who noticed that Biden choked up at the end when talking about his kids? My heart was in my throat for a second—- I thought he was going to lose it. Poor guy.

OK, the poling says Biden won, hands down (two-to-one ratio). Still, I think there's something to be said for beating the spread, and I think Palin exceeded expectations. 

UPDATE

OK, apparently I need to get a grip.

Sarah Palin's expectations were ridiculously low, set by the punditocracy that, as Jon Stewart might say, is hurting this country. Get a grip, folks. No one cares whether Andrea Mitchell thinks Palin reached her (Mitchell's) expectations. They want to know whether Sarah Palin can help the family pay the mortgage and pay the college tuition bill.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cobalt_blue
    Oct 02, 2008 @ 22:12:00

    Certainly, she definitely benefited from the soft bigotry of low expectations. I was expecting something along the lines of Admiral William Stockdale.

    Reply

  2. snoringKatZ
    Oct 03, 2008 @ 04:53:00

    She definitely succeeded in pummelling with a ferocious flurry of cute. Or her version of it. But if you listened to the actual words (the ones pronounced correctly), it was scary. She is an embarrassment. I pity Alaska. (This from someone who lives in *gak* Texas – the state Shrub wrecked before he moved on to bigger and better things to wreck)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

