Barack Obama says NO on Prop 8

I've stated my opposition to this. I think [Prop 8 is] unnecessary. I believe marriage is between a man and a woman. I am not in favor of gay marriage. But when you start playing around with constitutions, just to prohibit somebody who cares about another person, it just seems to me that's not what America's about. Usually, our constitutions expand liberties, they don't contract them.

No on 8

UPDATE: Due to some comments I recieved on this post, I've decided to post, once again, "A Democratic Strategy on Gay Marriage" by political consultant Eric Jaye, who makes the argument far better than I ever could. Look one post up.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lucy
    Nov 03, 2008 @ 10:33:00

    Why can't he just say he is for gay marriage. I like Obama and will vote for him, but this type of pussy-footing around the issue makes me think of Clinton's cop-out of "don't ask. don't tell." Geesh.

    Reply

  2. Papi Chulo
    Nov 03, 2008 @ 12:03:00

    For all the things I love about him, I'm sick of this bullshit position. You're against gay marriage? Why? Why is it "between a man and a woman"? Tell me why it's supposed to be that way. Don't get me wrong, I absolutely applaud the man's ability to recognize that it's not right to legislate that opinion on to the public, but for fuck's sake… at very least state that you'd like to figure something out that is fair, from a legal perspective, to everyone. GRRAH.By the way, thanks for posting your votes. I managed to find a multitude of ways to screw myself out of properly reading the gigantic voter pamphlet, so my new plan is to just read all of your arguments and vote with you on all the ones I agree with, and then read the pamphlet for the rest.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

