Two conflicting view points

I find this story about iodine insufficiency causing problems and how adding just a teensy bit to the water supply in poorer countries would raise the IQ up a few points. (also here if you prefer that whole paper-of-record thing)

butting heads with this post on my favorite blog after this one:

I don’t think most people really appreciate how important good salt and good pepper are for cooking. I watch people go through all sorts of elaborate rituals with their cooking, using expensive ingredients and arcane procedures to cook their “gourmet” meal, and then I watch them use Morton’s table salt and/or McCormick’s pure ground pepper (which is really only good for sneezing) and wonder what the hell they are thinking.

Me and my husband HP use kosher salt for cooking. It's easier to work with and all the chefs on foodnetwork.com always say to use it. Over and over again.  It goes without saying what I think of pre-ground pepper. I won't let that drek in the kitchen.

But I sometimes wonder about where I'm supposed to get my iodine, since I'm not getting it in my salt. And now I know why I keep forgetting to do something about it – I'm 'effing retarded from iodine insufficiency, that's why. 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. John
    Dec 07, 2008 @ 08:18:00

    Life is full of tough choices, isn't it? Though there are many natural sources of iodine [1], large parts of America would be back in the "Goiter belt" if it weren't added to salt. You can get iodine through some multi-vitiamns, but you probably don't need to worry. If you eat out at all [2], they probably use iodized salt as it is the most plentiful and least expensive sort.This is another example of cost-benefit analysis in action. The costs and risks of adding iodine to salt are minuscule compared to the health benefits.Other examples are adding fluoride to water to reduce carries, and insisting on early childhood immunizations against MMR and other diseases.John [1] E.g., if you eat sushi, you don't have to worry because the nori has loads of it. [2] Especially at a fast-food or greasy spoon restaurant.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

